Using Dropbox Smart Sync Online Only Mode

For Dropbox users that has Smart Sync with Online Only configurations, things is a slightly confusing in exchange for hard-disk space conservation. The idea is you only sync what you need. This allows you to keep your sync network bandwidth low (less things to sync on mobile data) and hard disk spaces (e.g. use only 55MB data for more than 1TB of datastore). This section guides you on how to use Dropbox with Online Only Smart Sync mode.

Smart-Sync Your Directory/File to Local Use

Smart-sync allows you to sync either directory or files. Hence, find your target and then:

  1. Right-Click on it.
  2. Look for Smart Sync.
  3. Select Local to tell Dropbox to sync the target.
  4. Give Dropbox some times to sync until the green indicator is out before use.
  5. Once green indicator is out, you can use it.

switch online mode to local

sync successful

Smart-Sync Your Directory/File back to Online Only Mode

Similarly, to conserve the bandwidth and spaces, you can switch it back to online-only mode. This will tell Dropbox not to sync those files and directories.

IMPORTANT NOTE: DO NOT confuse it with DELETE. DELETE will delete the file from the Dropbox and sync across teammates.

Online Only mode is a special feature to tell Dropbox what and what not to sync.

To do that, find your targets and then:

  1. Right-Click on it.
  2. Look for Smart Sync.
  3. Select Online Only to tell Dropbox to sync the target.
  4. Give Dropbox some times to sync until the grey indicator is out.
  5. Once grey indicator is out, the files are removed from your local storage without affecting the team.

switch local to online mode

switch online mode successful